left pic

Learn More About MS


MS Treatment Options

MS Prevalence

MS Causes

Types of MS


Types Of MS


Multiple Sclerosis Has Three Primary Disease Courses:

Relapsing-remitting (RRMS): This type of multiple sclerosis is characterized by partial or total recovery after attacks (also called exacerbations, relapses, or flares). Relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis is the most common form of MS. Seventy to 75 percent of people with MS are initially diagnosed with a relapsing-remitting course. Many people with RRMS lead active lives with minimal disease symptoms, while others can be affected more severely.

Secondary progressive (SPMS): Generally, this type of multiple sclerosis follows a relapsing-remitting course, and marks the point in which MS becomes steadily progressive. At this point, patients have fewer relapses, but disability and multiple sclerosis symptoms increase.

Primary progressive (PPMS): This progressive course of the disease is the most rare accounting for less than 15 percent of cases. From onset, the patient's multiple sclerosis symptoms and disability progress without remission. Doctors usually make the diagnosis after the person has been living for a period of time with progressive disability but not acute attacks